My Ghetto Palace: Bedroom Makeover Part 1


The Painting Begins!

I love my bedroom at home. It is my sanctuary, where all my stuff lives and where I go to work, rest, and revive myself. I knew that my bedroom in Pittsburgh was going to have to live up to those lofty expectations if I was ever going to call my new house home. This is what my room looked like when I moved in:

View from Door Before
And that was after a ceiling to floor scrubbing! (Who ever knew that you had to wash walls? Not me!!)

I definitely had my work cut out for me, especially since my parents did not want me bringing any of my current room furniture out to Pittsburgh. They graciously got me some great new bedroom furniture that my dad picked out with me at one of our local Care and Share thrift store.

Bedside Table

Armoire

Dresser

Isn’t it epic? It’s very Pennsylvania dutch. I have so many clothes (and not much closet space) so all the drawers in the big armoire are amazing!!

The furniture was the jumping off point for the rest of my room. I liked that the wood was really cozy looking, and that it evoked a sort of old world feeling, and I wanted to run with that for my bedspread. I liked the boho-chic look of Urban Outfitters apartment stuff, so after much deliberation, I got the “Romantic Floral Scarf Duvet”

Romantic Floral Scarf Duvet from Urban Outfitters

I knew I only had about a day and a half to get my room ready to go, so when my mom, my aunt (who just happens to be an interior designer!) and I got there we set some goals and decided on what we were going to do.  Here’s what we knew needed to happen:

Day 1

  1. Go to Target and Lowes to shop for anything we needed (paint and painting supplies, full length mirror, area rug, curtains).
  2. Scrub and clean entire room (it was FILTHY, the previous tenants didn’t clean anything), replace light bulbs.
  3. Get bed delivered by ABD Mattress, they were great!  Awesome student discounts and packages, they came right on time, and the bed and frame were up the stairs and set up within 5 minutes of their arrival.
  4. Paint the walls (Benjamin Moore’s Ash Violet).
  5. Paint the trim, AC unit area, windows, and doors.
Day 2
  1. Finish painting trim and doors.
  2. Put up curtains and area rug.
  3. Make up the bed.
  4. Move up and arrange the furniture.

When it was all said and done, here’s what it looked like!
View from Bed After

I tried to take some pictures before to compare with the after…please pardon all our bags, I took them right while we were packing up to leave!

Before

After

View Into Back Corner Before

View Into Back Corner After

Windows Before

Windows After

All in all I am EXTREMELY happy with my new room! I think everything really came together, and the new paint job made a world of a difference. I can’t wait to get back to Pittsburgh and spend more time in it!

This is only part one of my room makeover though, because when I get back I still have a tiny bit of work to do:

  1. Move in my desk and chair.
  2. Move in my clothes and all my stuff, and put it away (this is a big one, I have way too much stuff!).
  3. Figure out additional lighting in room, perhaps above the armchair!
  4. Organize closet using storage devices.
  5. Hang art!

All that said and done, the hardest of the work is over!  I have to thank my mom and my Auntie Suzanne for helping me so much, especially my Aunt because she had a lot of great ideas and expertise regarding color schemes, curtains, lighting, art placement, and room arrangement. Basically she rocks! Like I said, she’s an interior designer based out of Arlington, Virginia, but she does work all over the country. Check out her website here!

3 responses to “My Ghetto Palace: Bedroom Makeover Part 1

  1. Wow! You’ve been so crafty lately. I always feel inspired to do big projects like this, but then I get scared and/or lazy and don’t follow through. Props!

  2. I can’t wait to see it in real life one day! Can I hire you to redo my room? (and by hire, I mean cook dinner for you lol)

  3. Even though it was a lot of hard work, it was so rewarding to be part of your room transformation! It turned out great! I wish you all the best in your new pad! Love, Mom xoxo

Tell Me What You Think!

