Myrtle Beach Day 3: Not-So-Lazy River and Baby Violet


This morning I woke up at 6am and ran to Week 4 of the One Day to 5K Program, and unlike yesterday, I actually was able to complete it! It was still rough but I paced myself more in the beginning and pushed through to the end. I think it really helped to get it done earlier in the morning because it wasn’t as unbearably hot and humid out. It’s awesome to see my cardiovascular endurance improving on literally a day-to-day basis.

After a Great Morning Run!

After my run I was starving, so I made myself 2 over easy eggs (kind of a fail because I’m not used to the non-stick pans they have here) and oatmeal with fresh peaches and brown sugar. I could eat a dozen of those peaches a day!

Fuel up Breakfast

After breakfast and hanging out a bit, my mom, my cousin Krysta, and I attended a free work out program at the resort called the Lazy River Walk. Basically everyone gets in the Lazy River and the instructor tells you what to do (run, walk, lunge, high knees, butt kicks, squats, into or against the current, with a variety of different arm movements). I tried to push myself further with each move, so that I could get the most out of the workout. It wasn’t that intense, but it was fun and a nice change from running. I love group fitness because I usually need an instructor to push me during my workouts or I kind of wimp out.
After the Lazy River Walk I had a smoothie and headed out to the beach for the morning! My cousin Violet (3 months old) took her first trip to the beach today. Doesn’t she look absolutely adorable in her bathing suit? She’s such a sweetheart! She looks almost exactly like my little sister Gigi did when she was her age…chubby cheeks and big, bright blue eyes!


-Dominique

3 responses to “Myrtle Beach Day 3: Not-So-Lazy River and Baby Violet

  1. AWWWWW she’s so cute! I want to pinch her cheeks!
    Also, that lazy river workout sounds so fun!!! I love unconventional workouts 🙂

  2. Dominique, Thanks for sharing about your beach trip! So glad the running is going well. We were in Rehoboth this weekend and I ran on Sunday. It was really fun to be on the boardwalk early and to see all of the gorgeous beach houses! Super sweaty though! Violet is so precious – keep the photos coming!

Tell Me What You Think!

