Myrtle Beach Day 1: The Arrival


Gross Bug Carnage on the Front of Our Car

After a 10 hour car ride (from 7pm to 5am, my dad is a driving champion), the Benzio clan has made it to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina!  If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know that I have really been looking forward to this vacation because I needed a break from work and I couldn’t wait to get on the beach to swim and work on my tan!

We arrived a bit earlier than expected, and weren’t able to get into our rooms at the Wyndham SeaWatch Resort, so we drove around and found somewhere to eat for breakfast.  We settled on Stacks, a pancake/diner-y place, and waited for them to open.

5:30am, waiting for Stacks to open at 6!

Sleepy Sisters!

I ordered a garden crepe (eggs, swiss cheese, tomato, spinach, and mushroom topped with hollandaise), with a fresh fruit cup and one pancake on the side.  It was mediocre (definitely not as good as the stuffed crepes Andy makes!), but I’m still glad I was able to start the day off on a fairly balanced foot and not gorge myself on pancakes and bacon like I wanted to!

Garden Crepe

Pancake Palooza

We finally settled in, and hit the beach around 9am!  I swam in the ocean for a bit, then promptly fell asleep (I didn’t get a great night’s sleep in the backseat of the car) and got a light sunburn on my forearms, despite lathering myself up with sunscreen beforehand.  I never believe the bottle when sunscreen says that it is waterproof, I should have reapplied!!  Lesson learned.

I also started a book on the beach, The Help, which I am really excited to read!  It’s already got me hooked; I love the style in which it is written and the plot points so far.

Around 1pm I came in and made myself some lunch (PB and Banana with a glass of milk and a fresh South Carolina peach, yum!!) and then set off with my mom to the Super Walmart to get some groceries.

Shopping at the Super Walmart in Myrtle is usually quite an ordeal.  Most people there are all vacationing so no one really knows the store layout and everyone looks a little confused, overwhelmed, and sunburned!  My mom and I made it through and out alive, and scored lots of healthy eats like lean cold cuts, whole wheat bread/english muffins/flatbreads, greek yogurt, oats, almond milk, fresh fruits and veggies.  Can you see that I influenced the shopping? 😉  Don’t worry, we got a lot of ice cream too!

For dinner it looks like we’re having a “Grandma Joyce feast” of meatloaf and mashed potatoes.  Not exactly my idea of summer/beach food, but my grandma is the best cook I know so I’m not complaining!  I’m sure it will be delicious.

More beach adventures (and pictures) coming soon, so stay posted!

-Dominique

Let’s Chat

  1. When your family travels, do you usually drive or fly?
  2. Have you ever been to Myrtle Beach?
3 responses to “Myrtle Beach Day 1: The Arrival

  1. Pingback: Recovering from Time Travel |

  2. I like to think that while you were sleeping in a car, I was sleeping on a plane. Well, I didn’t exactly sleep, but you get the picture.

  3. Sounds like fun. I remember our family vacations to Ocean City MD. 2 adults, 4 kids and a large dog traveling in a brown station wagon with fake wood panels on the side and no AC…
    Sounds rough but it was actually really fun.

Tell Me What You Think!

