I’m becoming…a runner?


There’s going to be a lot of text in this post, so I figured I start it out with a picture for something a little more interesting than my usual ramblings.  This is me at work in the morning, drinking a green monster out of one of the new reusable cups my mommy got for our house.  They’re so cute and useful!  Thanks Mom!

Today I was a bit too sore from BodyPump/running yesterday to go to the often intense AM yoga class I had intended on going to (which made me sad, but I guess it’s better to listen to my body and not hurt myself!) so I just spent about 20 minutes stretching and 10 minutes doing some ab work, which I always LOVE (no sarcasm, I love a good belly burn).  Now I’m just slowly dying at work.  I just got a $60 a week raise, which is slightly lifting my spirits though!

Here’s what I want to talk about today though:  RUNNING!  If you guys have been following my fitness journey, you’ll know that I come from an “only run when chased” mentality.  I loathed running with every fiber of my being!  When my best friend Emma started running, I saw a flicker of hope for myself.  If she could go from not running at all to being able to run for an hour or more, than I certainly could too!  Running seemed like a great, fast, and inexpensive way to exercise at school or at home, and also a good way to be outside and enjoy the lovely spring and summer weather.  When I got home from Pitt, I started walking/jogging/running a couple days a week for about 10-20 minutes a day.  I still dreaded it every time, and although I saw small progress (I was able to actually run a mile without stopping to walk), I still didn’t really feel like I had a concrete method or plan for improvement.

That all changed when I discovered the Couch to 5K running program.  My initial running goal for the summer was to be able to run 3 miles in 30 minutes (so essentially, 5K!).  The Couch to 5K is a walk/run program that tells you what to do for 20-30 minute workouts, 3 times a week, for 9 weeks.  At the end of the 9 weeks, you’re supposed to be able to run a 5K!  I love these kinds of programs because they are basically idiot proof (it tells you EXACTLY what to do each day), and I think ANYONE can commit 1.5 hours a week to running.  It seemed like just what I needed.  From the Couch to 5K website I found a pretty cool website called Podrunner:  Intervals.  Podrunner Podcasts are made by a DJ and basically use the BPM of songs (along with some beeping reminders) to show you when to run and when to walk.  The music is pretty average techno/house music, nothing I’m too crazy about, but okay to listen to for a half hour if it’s helping me run.  I’m completing the Level 1 Program which is called One Day to 5K, based EXTREMELY CLOSELY off of the Couch to 5K program.  I am on Week 2/Day 3, and already in LOVE!

Now that you know what tools I’m using, let me tell you why I’m already passionate about these programs.

  • Mixing running with walking (at least the the beginning) makes the program extremely approachable for “couch potatoes” like me.  Also, I push myself harder during the run portions because I know that a (brisk) walk will be up in 60 or 90 more seconds.
  • The beat guided music help me switch between a very constant running/walking pace.
  • The program instructs you to only run 3 times a week, so I am not burnt out of running!  Running every day is a bit overwhelming for me, but when I break it down to 3 times a week, I actually look forward to each run!
  • I can FEEL the improvement.  Last night after running I felt absolutely on top of the world!  I actually ran for an additional 8 minutes after the 30 minute training session and I was *gasp* enjoying myself.  Because of this program, running has actually become FUN for me!  I never in a million years thought that I would say that, but there it is in black and white.

I would definitely recommend the Couch to 5K program and the Podrunner:  Intervals training podcasts to anyone who wants to become a runner (and doesn’t mind some techno beats).  I’ve already converted my mom!  There also training programs for 8K and 10K, although I cannot vouch for them because I haven’t tried them.

After work today I’m getting a haircut, so get ready for a rundown on my hair saga soon.

-Dominique

Let’s Chat

  1. Do you like running?  Why or why not?
  2. Is there a certain form of exercise that you have or have had a mental block against?  Why?
6 responses to “I’m becoming…a runner?

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Day 2: Hard Sweaty Runs and Baptist Church |

  2. so i totally hate running, but as there is no gym around here and i have no bicycle, i’ve taken up running as well! it’s nice because it is oh so flat here. maybe we can run together in schenley some time? love it.

    can’t wait to see your hair!!!

  3. I think you look leaner in your photos. Sean and I ran a 5K with Marlene on Saturday. It was awesome and Sean ran almost the entire thing without walking. I am so psyched to have a running partner. I love running and have been running my whole young adult – adult life, since I was a teenager I guess. It’s not always fun, but it’s always there for me and is a huge spirit lifter for me. So glad you are catching the bug. It’s like riding a bike, unless you have an injury, running will always be there for you.

  4. I do not like running, but thanks to you helping me with the podcast I ran today!!! I will try to do this three times a week . I feel very proud of myself! Running is very hard for me but I can already see I have improved since running a few times in the past few weeks! Keep up the great work and you are influencing us in a good way to exercise more! You are young and I am glad you are exercising. It is sich a good thing to do for LIFE! Can’t wait for the blog about your haircut with Joe! That should be fun! 🙂

  5. i am so proud of your commitment to fitness. you are looking great and your attitude about life is awesome to. Good decisions are the key to fulfilled living!!!!

Tell Me What You Think!

