Summer Job Burn-Out


Lately my life has been less than exciting (by my definition anyways!).  I’ve hit a bit of a rut…after 6 weeks straight of working full time I’m ready I’m extremely burnt out of my job (I manage the construction office and retail store for a pool  company).  Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE the people I work for and with, but some of the customers that I deal with on a daily basis are extremely frustrating and just downright rude to my face.  It’s quite disheartening, and very exhausting.  I’ve tried to stay positive about it, and just be thankful that I have a dependable job with good pay, but that’s becoming difficult for me lately.  My negativity from work seems to just be seeping into other areas of my life, and it’s definitely not good.  I’ve been freaking out about such minor things in my life that usually wouldn’t even be a blip on my radar and crying a lot for no reason, and I know that it’s just residual bitterness or frustration from work that I am unable to express while I am there.  I honestly just think I need a vacation!  I started my job the day after I got home from school, and it just hasn’t felt like summer yet!  Luckily for me, I get to go Myrtle Beach with my family in 16 days!  I can’t wait.  I’m literally counting down the days.

All that aside, I’ve been holding down the diet and exercise fort quite well over here.  I’ve wanted to deal with my work stress by chowing down on comfort food like chocolate, cupcakes, ice cream, or even pretzels, PLENTY of times so far this week (and it’s only day 3!), but I’ve resisted by being able to remind myself that binge eating and not staying active will only make me feel worse!

DashboardEnough with the woe is me routine, want to hear the bright parts of my week so far?

About a week ago, I posted about my multi-talented little sister Gigi (check out the post here)!  Well, Gigi impressed me yet again with her outstanding performance in her elementary school’s musical “The Rockin’ Tale of Snow White!”  It’s exactly what it sounds like, Snow White plus Rock n Roll (with a pinch of ADORABLE).  I am always amazed at how 40 kids ages 9-13 can just get up on stage for an hour and perform a whole musical by themselves. The show was extremely funny and entertaining, and the kids were so professional.

The Talented Cast!

The Seven Dwarves Stole the Show

Gigi played “Flip”, one of the Seven Dwarves. She’s in the shirt with the F on it!

I got a picture, but no autograph! 😉

I’m so proud of Gigi!

Also, I received my  “winnings” from from Jaclyn‘s FitBloggin’ Giveaway (check out her blog at http://www.just-jac.com)!  It contained so many  wonderful goodies.  If you’re interested, here’s what I won!

It was like Christmas!

  • a bag of salt and pepper potato PopChips
  • a sample of Organic Flax Oil
  • an Activate Zumba fitness DVD
  • a sample of Ultimate Omega 500 soft gels
  • a sample of Aveda smooth infusion conditioner
  • an attune Probiotic chocolate bar
  • a sample of Dr. Bronner’s Magic All-One Citrus Orange Pure-Castile Soap
  • a coupon for 1 free attune Probiotic chocolate bar
  • and a coupon for a buy one get one free bottle of MetroMint!
I haven’t tried anything out yet because I’m sooo busy and also dieting, but I can’t wait to enjoy my treats!  They totally brightened up my day.  Thanks Jaclyn!

Thats all for now!

-Dominique

Let’s Chat

  1. Have you ever felt “burnt-out” from working?  Any tips on how to cope?
  2. What things have brightened up this week for you?
3 responses to “Summer Job Burn-Out

  1. You are doing such a great job at work and I know working with the public can be hard! I am so thankful you have a great boss and they treat you very well!Hopefully things will get more fun now that Jamie is home and vacations and Emma coming home! Soon you will be on the beach or by the pool with a good book! 🙂 At least you have something to look forward too! Thanks for being such a supportive sister to Gigi! She is lucky to have you! My bright spot so far this week is that we got our A/C fixed just in the nick of time!

  2. don’t worry, I’ll be home soon 😉

  3. Aw, I’m so sorry to hear that you feel so burnt-out…but I definitely understand. I don’t really know how to overcome it, other than planning small rewards to reward yourself at the end of the day for a good job at work! If you get a lunch break, really try to savor that. Bring a good book and a yummy lunch or meet a friend for a lunch out! It’s good to hear that you love your co-workers, so maybe try to talk to them more throughout the day if its possible.

    What brightened me up this week? Packages from the mailman, a sunny day, seeing friends, and spending time with my family. And…frozen yogurt!

Tell Me What You Think!

