God’s Beauty is Everywhere


Today I started my 10 week devotional, 7 Minutes with God by The Navigators (mysterious, idk why).
I literally put it next to my bed before I fell asleep, and when I woke up (and was somewhat coherent, mind you) I grabbed it and ready the first devotional.  It was a “reflection” that provided scripture and some food for thought.  Each week follows one character trait of God, and Week 1’s trait is CREATIVITY.  Yes, God is very creative!

The Scripture reading was from Matthew 6:25-30, which is actually one of my absolute FAVORITE messages of one of my absolute FAVORITE part of the Bible, the Sermon on the Mount (found in Matthew chapters 5-7).  Even if you’re not religious at all, the Sermon on the Mount is a really good (and quick) read; it deals with Jesus abolishing all other laws and basically telling it how it is.  I could read it every day.  I actually had the entire thing memorized at one point!

Anyways, here’s the passage (I took a little bit more because I LOVE IT SO MUCH):

Do Not Worry

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

(via http://www.biblegateway.com, NIV version)

This passage has spoken VOLUMES to me, and is a great reminder everyday.  I have struggled with anxiety disorders my entire life, and these verse have really helped me through some hard times (and still do!).  The truth of the matter is, my anxiety is the worst when I do not submit myself to God’s will, and when I distrust his plan for my day or my life!  By worrying about things, I am saying to God that I do not have faith in His plan, or that I think that He has forgotten me, or that I think that I can orchestrate a better future (whether it be the next hour, the next month, or the next ten years) than He can.  I just need to remember that God cares for me and loves me, and that everything will always work out the way it’s supposed to, and worrying only creates more trouble.

Okay, that was actually just a tangent because that wasn’t even what the devotional highlighted today.  It actually brought to light another part of this passage: the fact that God clothed our world so carefully and beautifully!  Not only do things in nature perform amazing functions, they also are breathtaking to observe!  This was definitely something that I tried to keep in mind throughout the day by praising God for this beautiful world he created for us.  After I read, I went on my morning run, and look what I saw…

If God made the flowers so beautiful, how much more beautiful did he make each one of us? 🙂

…beautiful roses!  What a perfect example of what I had just read.  I run by these roses every day, but today I took extra special notice of them, and praised God for putting them in my path as a daily reminder of His creativity and care.

-Dominique

Let’s Chat!

  1. What do you reflect on when you are anxious?
  2. What do you think is God’s most creative creation?  What is something you see regularly that can remind you of how careful and creative He was when He designed our beautiful planet?
5 responses to “God’s Beauty is Everywhere

  1. regarding creativity and God, this is one of my favorite quotes

    “to be creative is only to have health: to keep oneself fully alive in the Creation, to keep the Creation fully alive in oneself, to see the Creation anew, to welcome one’s part in it anew. The most creative works are all strategies of this health. Works of pride, by self-called creators, with their premium on originality, reduce the Creation to novelty – the faint surprise of minds incapable of wonder.” – Wendell Berry
    i just love this thought…
    hope that devotional book is so great! sounds like you are super busy, and I hope you can find some good time to breath

  2. Loved your post! Great message. I love those roses too! Sometimes I stop and smell them. I love God’s creativity…. He is amazing! Our God is an awesome God!

  3. Thanks so much for sharing! This resonated with me most because, through these devotions, you are cultivating HEALTHY thoughts in your mind, which then are a catalyst for making better decisions that honor your body. Anxiety is a terrible detriment to your health (I don’t need to tell YOU that!) and it’s great that you use God’s will to help you gracefully accept things you cannot change in your life. And, along with that, marveling at the positive, beautiful things in this natural world helps to counter-balance those life-stressors. I truly believe faith is necessary to a healthy, balanced life, whatever you believe. And you’ve got it, girl!

  4. I enjoyed this post. Thank you for sharing it.

    When I’m anxious/nervous sometimes I just try to take a step back and slow everything down. I try to make a good decision based on all the information and the situation at hand.
    I know that every day that I go to work I say a prayer that God will give me a clear mind, as well as other things, to make good decisions.
    I am reminded of all of Gods beautiful creations every day when I look at my amazing daughter and 14 year old dog =)

    Andrew

Tell Me What You Think!

