Chocolate Covered Katie’s Deep Dish Cookie Pie


Chocolate-Covered Katie’s Blog’s slogan is “Where Healthy Tastes Naughty” definitely held true with her Deep-Dish Cookie Pie recipe! I won’t go into too much recipe detail, because we didn’t deviate from Katie’s at all, and you can see it on her blog!

This recipe is vegan (except for the chocolate chips) and it’s key ingredients are applesauce, quick oats, garbanzo beans, and brown sugar.

Ingredient Line-Up

The Star of the Show...Garbanzo Beans!!

I’ll admit that I was EXTREMELY skeptical about trying this recipe, and I thought that maybe we should just make half of the recipe to make sure it tasted good, but Andy was excited about it and wanted us to make the whole thing. So we did! Only problem? We couldn’t find his food processor and his blender was broken. Our solution? Andy was our food processor! One of the many perks of having a restaurant cook with killer knife skills for a boyfriend! It just took a little longer, but we didn’t mind.

Boyfriend Doubling as a Food-Processor

Mixed Up and Ready to Bake!

35 minutes later it was out of the oven and ready to eat! And eat we did…

Deep Dish Cookie Pie!

It was SO decadent, dense, moist, chewy, and altogether wonderful! The beans and oats made it really filling.

I APPROVE!

We definitely enjoyed it…look how much we ate right out of the oven!

Embarrassing...

I’d definitely make it again, you can’t even taste the beans! Thanks for the great recipe, Katie!

-Dominique

Let’s Chat!

  1. Do you think you would ever try making this recipe? Β Why or why not?
  2. What is your opinion on “healthifying” desserts?
8 responses to “Chocolate Covered Katie’s Deep Dish Cookie Pie

  1. Pingback: Emma’s 20th Birthday Part 1: 86 West and Deep Dish Cookie Pie |

  2. That looks and sounds so good! I’ve been on a vegan baking kick so I want to try this! πŸ™‚

  3. THIS LOOKS DELICIOUS! It looks like it would taste good the next day (cold?), too!

    I might be biased, but I think healthifying desserts is genius. I make all baked goods with unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. 1 cup of canola oil = about 2000 kcals; 1 cup of applesauce = about 100 kcal. And it tastes just as good!

    Also, I’m loving the Giant generic goods. Making me miss home a bit πŸ™‚

  4. I had some and it was absolutely delicious! Thanks for saving me a piece!

  5. Awwww! LOL I loved your post and laughed so much at the food processor solution. So cute :)!

    When I first heard about black bean brownies, a few years ago, I was skeptical too… but then I thought about the fact that we put tofu in things, and tofu is a bean! Or the Japanese who use red bean paste in desserts. (And then someone reminded me that cacao is a bean… well, then I was definitely on board with the beans-are desserts thing!)

    Happy Saturday, sweetie (cookie) pie! πŸ™‚

  6. This looks delicious, ive made stuff with applesauce in it before but not beans! Dana and I might have to try this some day πŸ™‚

  7. you have full permission to make this as a homecoming gift πŸ™‚ YUM!

Tell Me What You Think!

