Power-Up Breakfast #2: Raw “Cookie Dough”


As I mentioned in Power-Up Breakfast #1:  Fast Frittata, I strongly believe that every good day should start with a good breakfast!  One of my all-time favorite breakfasts that I discovered in the blogosphere is what people are calling “Vegan Cookie Dough” or “Raw Cookie Dough”.  I was skeptical that anything healthy could mimic cookie dough, but hearing everyone rave about it made me want to try it.  I’m so glad I did!  I probably make raw “cookie dough” for myself about 5 times a week now.  It is SUPER easy, quick, and filling.  When I eat it for breakfast at 8:30AM I usually am not even hungry until 2PM, which is a pretty big deal for me.

I’m going to show you how I make it, but what’s best about raw “cookie dough” is that once you get the idea behind it, it’s extremely easy to customize!  Like I said, I combined a lot of things I saw on different blogs, and my own preferences, to come up with my raw “cookie dough”, and I claim NO OWNERSHIP over this concept or this recipe!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • a couple splashes of liquid (I use Almond Milk, you can use water, soymilk, cow’s milk, etc.)
  • 1 scoop of Protein powder (I use vanilla flavored)
  • 1 spoonful of nut butter (I use almond butter)
  • Mix-ins of your choosing (this time i went with chopped walnuts for crunch and coconut flakes for extra sweetness!  other ideas include chocolate chips, dried or chopped fruit, or other nuts/seeds)

Ingredient Line-up

In my mind, ALMOND BUTTER is the star of this recipe!! I can't get enough of this stuff.

Although you essentially just have to combine all the ingredients and stir, I find it easier if I dissolve the protein powder in my liquid before adding any other ingredients, just so it doesn’t leave my cookie dough powdery!

ALMOND BUTTER, YOU SLAY ME EVERY TIME

All mixed up!

I like to chop a banana on top, it goes perfect with the cookie dough texture and taste!

And ready to go!

It may not look pretty, but if you like oats like I do, I’m sure you will LOVE it!
I like to make my raw cookie dough in a Tupperware container so that I can snap on the lid and take it with me to work.  Portable cookie dough!

What else do I take to work? Here’s was my lunch line-up this morning…

Lots of Water, Apple, Greek Yogurt, Veggies, and a BabyBel Cheese (another growing addiction)

It may not look like a lot, but like I said, the raw cookie dough keeps me full past noon!!

-Dominique

Let’s Chat:

  1. What mix-ins would go in YOUR raw cookie dough?
  2. Do you pack your lunch for work, or buy it there?
I’d love to hear from you in the comments 🙂
5 responses to “Power-Up Breakfast #2: Raw “Cookie Dough”

  1. hi dominique-

    not really healthy, except for the tomatos, cucumbers and banana. cow’s milk is for baby cows and also, full of hormones and steroids; hence, try skipping the yogurt and cheese. processed oats aren’t good for you either, nor is processed cocunut and processed almond butter. they are heated to 120 degrees F and have lost their nutrients.

    try a green smoothie (no protein powder) for breakfast or a whole breakfast of only fruit. stay away from tins, jars, powders. buy a green cocunut and drink the juice and then blend the meat into your smoothie. you’ll feel better!

    oh, and check out arnold’s way in landsdale. he can teach you. a fantastic resource so close to you. they teach classes on raw cooking…check it out…

    carole

  2. Don’t forget that if you use Cow’s Milk, it’s not vegan anymore! O NOES!

  3. I’ve been dying to try these! I’ll def. have to get on that.

  4. I can’t wait to try this when I can get some protein powder!! looks delicious! also, have I every mentioned i want to put little balls of the stuff in greek yoghurt…YUM!

  5. I would put raisins in my cookie dough . I LOVE raisins! Craisins would be great too!

Tell Me What You Think!

