Food Battles: Cheesy Chips!


The other night at dinner my family wanted to chow down on some chips with our burgers.  My mom brought out two different bags,  one was Herr’s Baked Potato Crisps (Cheddar and Sour Cream flavored) and the other was Dorito’s (Nacho Cheese).

Here are the Contenders!!

I decided it would be fun to see how they stack up! First let’s check out the NUTRITION FACTS:

Doritos Nutrition Facts

Herr's Baked Nutrition Facts

BREAKDOWN:

  • CALORIES PER CHIP=Doritos 13.6, Herr’s Baked 9.23
  • CALORIES FROM FAT PER CHIP=Doritos 6.36, Herr’s Baked 2.3
  • GRAMS OF SATURATED FAT PER CHIP=Doritos 0.14, Herr’s Baked 0.04
  • GRAMS OF SODIUM PER CHIP=Doritos 16.36, Herr’s Baked 25.38
  • GRAMS OF DIETARY FIBER PER CHIP= Doritos 0.09, Herr’s Baked 0.15
  • GRAMS OF SUGAR PER CHIP= Doritos 0.09, Herr’s Baked 0.15
SUMMARY:
  • Herr’s Baked Crisps are lower in calories, calories from fat, saturated fat,  but higher in sodium and sugar than the Doritos!
How about the TASTE and TEXTURE?
The Nacho Cheese Doritos are addicting and have a good heavy crunch, and do taste a little over-processed, in my opinion.  The Cheddar and Sour Cream Baked Herr’s Crisps are lighter and crispier, and have less of a processed taste.  The flavor was actually very tangy and pleasant, and didn’t leave the weird Dorito’s cheese film on the roof of my mouth.

Doritos vs. Herr's Baked

The winner?  I went with the Baked Herr’s, all the way.  Because they were lower in calories I could eat MORE!  I’m usually not a fan of baked chips because I find them to be a lot less flavorful than their counterparts, but the cheddar and sour cream hit the spot.  Even my dad said “I could eat these!” which is a big deal because he LOVES his Doritos.  The only thing that I was disappointed about was the higher sodium stats.

Yummy!

-Dominique

Lets Chat!

  1. What do you think of baked chips?  Have you ever tried Cheddar and Sour Cream Herr’s Baked Chips?  What did you think?
  2. What foods do you commonly replace with healthier alternatives?  Do they beat your cravings, or leave you wanting more?
Leave your answers in the comments, I can’t wait to hear from you! 🙂
3 responses to “Food Battles: Cheesy Chips!

  1. I took back my Lays ruffles chips because after going vegan for 4 months I could just imagine the oily taste of them. My son like Herrs baked(cooked) potato chips and after I tried them, I was sold. The lighter taste is perfect for my lighter, vegan lifestyle.

  2. I’m all about eating MORE of something, haha! I love sour cream and onion chips, so I’m sure I’d like cheddar and sour cream. I replace a lot of things with healthier alternatives. I typically buy things in the low fat version.

  3. I’m not really into the whole powdery cheese deal. But I’m eating (HA!) my own words, because I’ve been snacking on Alex’s the past two weeks!!! sometimes those cravings are hard to ignore, so baked is a good option…or make your own! 🙂

Tell Me What You Think!

