A Wonderful Start to the Holiday Weekend!


Dad outside the 50's Diner

Last night I decided to stay in, relax, and go to bed early (thats about midnight for me!), so I was definitely pleased when my dad came in my room around 8 AM to wake me up in the morning.  I love getting up early on weekends, because then I can fit so many activities into one day!  It was even better that he was waking me up to go to one of our family’s favorite breakfast restaurants, The 50’s Diner! As you guys already know from my post Power-Up Breakfast #1:  Fast Frittata, one of my favorite ways to start the day is with a good breakfast.  The 50’s Diner is totally themed out with old records, pictures of James Dean, Marilyn Monroe, and Elvis, and always has a 50’s movie playing behind the bar.   It’s so fun, and the food is great!

The 50's Diner

The best part of the menu, in my opinion, is the variety of breads they offer for French Toast.  I’ve had the coconut chocolate chip before, and it was yummy!

YUM!

Today I was looking for something a little more protein packed to start my day, so I went with one of the specials:  Eggs Benedict with Sweet Potatoes and Chives.  I LOVE Eggs Benedict,  I could probably eat Hollandaise Sauce on just about anything!  Sweet potatoes are delish too.  I figured I couldn’t go wrong!  When it came out of the kitchen, I was impressed with the presentation.  So pretty and elegant for a somewhat dive-y diner!

Eggs Benedict with Sweet Potatoes and Chives

Unfortunately, the taste didn’t match the appearance.  The sweet potatoes were delicious, but the Hollandaise was definitely lacking in flavor.  They should have kicked it up a couple of notches with some more hot sauce, pepper, or fresh lemon juice (or maybe all three!).  Then again, I don’t think any Hollandaise will ever match up to Andy’s…

Money Shot of my Birthday Breakfast (Made by Andy! and yes, that is Taylor Pork Roll...)

When our bellies were finally full, we hopped back into the convertible, top down of course!  It was a lovely day here, in the mid 80s!

Ridin' in Style

Let’s Chat!

Do you like to get up early or sleep in on the weekends?  Why?

I’d love to hear what you think in the comments 🙂

One response to “A Wonderful Start to the Holiday Weekend!

  1. I adore getting up early on weekends! i’m always so excited to start the day so I leap out of bed with a smile 🙂
    can you believe I’ve still never been to the 50’s diner? (I think that you have even been with MY parents!) so we should go. We should order milkshakes and sit at the bar and talk about who’s most recently got pinned 😉

Tell Me What You Think!

