A Very Emma Morning


This morning was a very Emma morning for me!  What does that mean?  Let me explain:

My Healthy Role Model and Best Friend, Emma!!

Emma, of Namaste Everyday is my very best friend, and also one of my role models for healthy living!  Emma and I always used to poke fun at people jogging early in the morning when as drove to school, saying things like “I only run when I’m being chased!” and “Could you IMAGINE being a ‘running girl’? Never!”  To my surprise, after attending her first year of college, Emma came back to me a friend with a newly found love of fitness, especially running!  I couldn’t believe this betrayal 😉 !

I decided to follow the old adage, “if you can’t beat them, join them!” and am trying to use this summer to explore my own fitness strengths and to overcome my personal mental block against becoming a “running girl”.  That way, when Emma comes home, we’ll be able to go on runs TOGETHER!  Doesn’t that sound nice?

My problems with running of late (other than generally hating it and having horrible cardiovascular endurance) is finding a time to do it.  I work 9-5 everyday, and I would ideally run right when I get home, but then I miss out on eating dinner with my family!  That doesn’t seem right to me.  Also, when I run in the evening, all day at work I just think about (and dread) the run that awaits me when I get home.

My solution?  To get my butt out of bed and start running IN THE MORNING!  Emma loves getting up and starting her day early so that she can be more productive, and I am learning to love it too!  This morning when my alarm went off at 6:45AM, I actually sprung out of bed with a smile on my face.  How Emma is that?  Very.  I washed my face and brushed my teeth, laced up my running shoes, and hit the pavement!

As per Emma’s recommendations, I am working slowly but surely on improving my running time.  Right now it’s a little bit pathetic, but I’ve been improving!  I speedwalk at a very brisk pace (enough to work up a sweat and be breathing heavily) for 11 minutes, run for 8 minutes, and then speedwalk again for another 11 minutes, for a solid 30 minutes of cardio.  Hopefully soon I’ll be able to run for 10 minutes, then 12, then 15, up to an hour!  Again, I’m trying the slowly but surely approach.

When I got back home, I decided a protein smoothie would taste good and sit well in my belly, especially on this hot day!  So I whipped one up, combining a splash of vanilla, almond milk, a splash of OJ, 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder, and 2 handfuls of frozen berries…

But I did say that this was an Emma morning, so of course, there had to be a secret ingredient!  Can you guess what it was?

If you guessed SPINACH, then you’re right! Only a handful though. As with the running, I’m going to ease myself into green monsters slowly but surely.

Secret Ingredient? Baby Spinach!!

And you know what? It was delicious! I can’t say for sure, but I’d have to say that the citrus-y zing of the orange juice really cut any spinach taste that I otherwise may have noticed. A great way to start the day!

-Dominique

Let’s Chat!

  1. When do you find time to exercise?
  2. Do you have a healthy role model?  Who?
As always, I’d love to hear from you in the comments 🙂
2 responses to “A Very Emma Morning

  1. I have to get my workout in early as one of the first activities of the day. Otherwise it is SO hard for me to get to it later. Great job trying to get into that routine too. 🙂

    And I always crave a green smoothie post-run. So refreshing!

  2. OMG I’M FAMOUS!!! I’m so touched, doll 🙂 and so PROUD! It makes me so happy that I am inspiring you to run and drink spinach 😉 Can’t wait to do it together!
    Also, jolting out of bed before the sun rises with a smile on your face….SO me 😉

Tell Me What You Think!

