Power-Up Breakfast #1: Fast Frittata!


Breakfast has ALWAYS been my favorite meal of the day.  I always say that if I had to choose one meal of the day (breakfast, lunch, dinner, or dessert) and eat it for every meal, every day, I would choose breakfast hands down.  There are just so many great breakfast foods and drinks to choose from!  I almost ALWAYS eat breakfast in the morning, unless I’m really running low on time.  I just feel like a zombie without it!  This summer I’ve realized that whatever I eat for breakfast sets the tone for the rest of my day food-wise.  If I make conscious decisions to wake up to foods that are good for me, I feel physically and mentally better all day long, and continue to make healthy choices for the rest of the day.  A healthy breakfast, however, does not by any means translate to a “light” breakfast.  In order for my breakfasts to keep me “powered-up” throughout the day, I need them to not only be healthy, but also be filling!

One of my go to morning breakfasts is what I call my “fast frittata”.  Described on wikipedia as an “Italy’s version of an open-faced omelet”, I find frittatas to be simple but delicious, and a great way to work lots of veggies into the first meal of the day.  They’re really simple to make (trust me, I’m awful at cooking, so if I can do it, anyone can!) but I’ll share how I usually do it!

First, I put a bit of olive oil in a frying pan on medium heat.  Then, I add a handful of baby spinach leaves.

While the magic’s happening in the pan there, I wash and prepare the rest of my veggies (this time halved cherry tomatoes and some onion, I usually put in a ton of mushrooms too but we didn’t have any).

Shove the spinach around in the pan a little until it shrinks and wilts a little like this:

The dump the rest of the veggies in the pan to heat up!

Mix 2 large eggs (or however many you like to have, or egg whites/egg replacers if you so choose) with some shredded cheese (today I chose cheddar) and some salt and pepper.  You can also add some milk if you want, but I choose not to.

TANGENT:  Funny story, my grandma makes the best scrambled eggs.  They’re so light and fluffy!  When I asked her why they were so good, she shared her secret ingredient with me:  heavy whipping cream!  LOL!  No wonder they were delicious!

Pour the egg mixture straight into the pan, on top of the veggies, and make sure it covers the entire bottom!

Then, flip the frittata.  This part always makes me super nervous, the key is to be sure that it is almost completely cooked through.  To achieve this without burning, keep the stove on a MEDIUM heat.  (I’m very impatient so I always turn the stove up to high! Oops!).  If you’re cool, you can flip it in the pan without a spatula!  I’m still working on that one 😉 .

When you’re sure it’s cooked all the way through, slide it off the pan and onto a plate.  Then, eat and enjoy!  Glass of orange juice encouraged, but optional.

Another part of my power-up breakfast?  Gummy vitamins!  Andy, Emma, everyone in my family, and I are addicted to these vitamins because they’re so fun to eat.  My mom even sent some to us in college!  She’s the best.

-Dominique

Let’s Chat!

  1. If you could eat one meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner, or dessert) everyday for all three meals, every day for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?
  2. Do you eat breakfast in the morning?  Why or why not?

I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

9 responses to “Power-Up Breakfast #1: Fast Frittata!

  1. Pingback: Power-Up Breakfast #2: Raw “Cookie Dough” | Just Another Phase

  2. Pingback: Power-Up Breakfast #2: Raw “Cookie Dough” |

  3. Pingback: A Wonderful Start to the Holiday Weekend! |

  4. congrats on starting your blog!! I’m super excited to keep reading it 🙂

    1. I totally agree with you- I’m all about breakfast. I made veggie scrambled eggs at ten thirty last night… breakfast foods just make me feel good (no pun intended..)
    2. Occasionally I manage to substitute it with coffee, but for the most part I just can’t function without it. Even when I wake up at 2, it’s breakfast first 🙂

    And you guys should totally check out Viactiv vitamins (they taste like toostie rolls). Though they might be women’s vitamins?..sorry andy, haha.

  5. The pic at the end with Andy holding the Gummy Vites made the whole blog for me! lol

  6. great recipe! Make it for me, breakfast in bed, preferably? With orange juice in a fancy glass, oh yes.
    Also I am pining for those Gummy Vites. I remember receiving some in a package from your mom one time and I counted them to make sure they lasted me until I got home 😉 VITAMIN-PACKED CANDY!

  7. My head looks massive on my body for some reason. This post needs more taylor pork roll and fried eggs over easy.

Tell Me What You Think!

