Birthday Cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World


Thursday was my friend Ian’s birthday, so I made some vegan cupcakes to celebrate!  Baking often intimidates me (lots of exactness and food chemistry) so I googled “basic vegan cupcakes” and came upon a recipe for Golden Vanilla Cupcakes from Isa Moskowitz and Terry Romero’s vegan baking book Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. You can find the recipe online here,

Other than substituting almond milk for soy milk, I followed the recipe exactly, and they cupcakes were perfect!  Light, “butter”-y, and fluffy.  Everyone loved them!

I iced them with Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting (also from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, recipe is online here).  Again, I substituted almond milk for soy milk.  I also added cocoa powder and cinnamon to give the frosting a little color and pizzazz.  I was really impressed with the frosting!  It was dense but easily spreadable, and so creamy!

Overall, these cupcakes were a hit, and I would definitely make them again!  Two things I would note about the recipe is that the batter yields 12 cupcakes…maybe 13 if I had been more conservative with my batter sampling ;).  The frosting recipe made more than enough too give each cupcake a very thick layer of frosting (not a problem for me because, let’s face it, who doesn’t want extra frosting in the house?).

-Dominique

Do any of you own Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World?  What are your opinions on vegan baking?

5 responses to “Birthday Cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

  1. Hey! It’s Gigi and I think its a good idea to make personalized cupcakes for Ian. I hope you guys enjoyed them, too. Well, I’m off to watch Shark Tank but I hope you keep posting desert recipes because as you know… I’m very picky. Oh, and one last thing. Niko is taking the SATs today! Good Luck to Her!

  2. Love your cupcakes! Very interesting presentation too! =)

  3. I don’t own Vegan Cupcakes either but I need to buy it now after seeing these!

  4. The cupcakes look delicious and festive! Ian is a lucky guy to have a neighbor like you!

  5. I don’t own Vegan Cupcakes yet but I have her Appetite for Reduction and I LOVE it!. I do quite a bit of vegan baking myself. About to post Vegan Chocolate Adzuki bars this weekend.

Tell Me What You Think!

